You Are The Villain of Your Own Story. Or It Should be Hero?

You Are The Villain of Your Own Story. Or It Should be Hero?

You are the hero of your own story. — Joseph Campbell

We all must have heard this famous quote by the Joseph Campbell. This is one of the motivational things we find on the internet when we are at our lowest point. Right?

And this is one of the things that is needed when your self-esteem is wrecked and you are looking for some warmth.

But my delusional mind refuses to accept this, at times.

You must have heard about the “Butterfly Effect”. That means each every small change is leading to a greater change. This is a chaos theory that has no scientific explanation, whether it exists or not.

Now my point is, we all have made some really bad decisions in our lives. There must be some good decisions as well. But we remember the bad ones only. Now, these bad and good decisions cumulatively make us what we are.

Coming back to the hero of the life. I agree you are the hero of your life when everything is good. But if there is anything that is bothering you then it is your own doing. That makes you a villain. Isn’t it?

I read somewhere that human is a self-destructive organism. This means we create our own problems and then spends a lot of time solving them. Maybe this gives a meaning to our petty lives.

If you are still confused then a story can help you.

My Villainous Acts

I have always been a stubborn kid. And as I am saying a “kid” then you should understand that I am going to share a childhood story.

I was in 2nd standard when I and my 2-year younger sister were fighting over a hair band. A glossy, red and beautiful piece of a hair band. We both wanted to wear it at the same time. My mother must have been busy otherwise she would have stopped one of us before it gets ugly.

Being the elder one, I was more powerful than her. And soon the fight changed into a tug of war round. I hated her at that moment and wanted to hurt her. So, I waited until she applied as much force as she can to snatch the hair band off my hands. And then leave the band to set it loose. Due to the force, she was applying, the hair band hit her eye in a parabolic fashion. It started bleeding soon after and she started crying.

My mother came running and saw my sister is bleeding from her eye as I was sitting in a corner with my guilty face. She took her to the hospital and doctors checked her eye and run tests.

And all I can think at that moment – my father will come home this evening and he will be so mad at me. No one will understand my side of the story. I just wanted the hair band. She should have stopped fighting as she should know that she cannot win over me.

Not a single thought crossed my mind whether her eye is okay or not.

Thankfully nothing happened to her eye, it only hit the waterline and her eyes are as good as normal. But it was painful and the pain lasted for a couple of days.

Conclusion

Now that I am a grown-up, I hate myself for causing that pain to her. But in the moment of exasperation, you forget the line between right and wrong.

Well, this story concludes that I am the villain of my sister’s life.

But there is a twist

After that event, everyone stopped talking to me. Initially, I blamed her for everything happened. But later on, I realised that I did that to me. My mother went to normal in a day. And so did my sister, we had to play “kitchen-kitchen” in the evening. But father continued this for a week. I think I even cried a little because nobody is talking to me.

I could have stopped and offered her the hair band. Or we could share it. But I trust my anger than the little brain I had at the age of 7.

Let bygones be bygones.

She wears all my clothes and posts pictures wearing them on Instagram, before me. So, I guess we are even now.

Rashmita Out 😐

Leave a comment